NaNo[Insert Preferred Abbreviation Here]Mo Here We Come!

I am proud and honored to be part of such a dedicated group of writers!

Likely due in part to working at the Office of Letters and Light, Andrea has inspired several people, including Mugsters, to participate in NaNoWriMo. That’s some intense writing – the goal is a 50,000-word novel draft in the month of November.

Andrea has been rushing to finish one novel draft in time to start another. Talk about ambitious! Anthony jumped in quick. As Anthony is a naturally prolific writer, I wouldn’t be surprised if he doubled the goal word count. Another writer, known for now as Pyxis, wasn’t immediately sold on the idea. Would it be more stressful than fun? Would friendly competition only add to the stress? But she courageously decided to try it out. Through the month of November, you can follow their progress in the word count box on the right sidebar.

At first I, too, was ready to plunge into the craziness of NaNoWriMo. I’ve had the idea for my next novel for quite some time, and I began some vague plot outlines and character sketches. Then a conversation with my mentor stopped me in my tracks. He was emphatic that I not step away from the novel I’m currently working on, the one that is now in Draft 4, that I have been working on for the last couple of years. The truth? I had been procrastinating a call with him, because I knew what he was going to say. I also knew that he was right.

A significant part of me is devastated that I will not be participating with my fellow Mugsters in this wild adventure. However, I’ve decided to take on my own little NaNoEdMo – 50 hours of editing in a month. This usually takes place in March, but so what. I’ll get to participate with my group in the ways that matter – griping about finding the time to write (or revise), freaking out about meeting that 50,000-word (or 50-hour) deadline, and supporting each other through it all. Because, on top of the brilliant comments and killer critiques, that’s one of the things MUG does best.

Thank you to my fellow Mugsters for your drive and inspiration. You are a powerful crew. Let’s get this party started!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Moderately Uncategorized Gabbing

11 responses to “NaNo[Insert Preferred Abbreviation Here]Mo Here We Come!

  1. Cyn Bermudez

    Great post, Taylor. I wonder who this Pyxis chick is. Lol. Process of elimination…

  2. Anthony C. Lanni

    Yay! Let’s kick this stuff out! Also, thanks for the extra pressure, Taylor. Double the word count? Sheesh. ;P

    wait… where’s the status bar? I can’t see it…

    • Anthony C. Lanni

      oh, never mind. I see it now. I needed to refresh the cache on my machine. Does the word ‘duh’ mean anything to you?

  3. lol you guys are awesome 🙂 btw ran across this article in an email from Gotham Writers – I know you’re supposed to be writing, writing, writing, but if you have two minutes i thought there were some useful tips!
    http://www.writingclasses.com/InformationPages/MoreInformation.php/info_type/NL/item/4882?utm_source=Gotham+Writers%27+Workshop+List&utm_campaign=ce2506ec9c-11_12_WEB_Newsletter&utm_medium=email

  4. Anthony C. Lanni

    Wow, you guys are kicking my butt. Nice work. I see Ian’s working us all, though – over 3K words already? Damn. ;P

  5. Cyn Bermudez

    Dang! Anthony is over 10k already. Show off ;P Lol jk

  6. Anthony C. Lanni

    Blame Taylor. She said she expected me to double the word count. 😛 (That is NOT my goal, BTW.)

    But I am going out of town for a computing conference for three days (the 11th through the 14th), and then with Thanksgiving and LosCon – which I’d like to go to but not feel guilty about not writing during – I figure I better get in the writing I can, when I can, because later I’m not going to be nearly so prolific.

    Iandoli progress report: they’ve reached the little town. No sign of Ralan Fireshine, though they have a clue where he went. I have not yet reached the beginning of the outline I wrote for NaNoWriMo…

    • Cyn Bermudez

      And I was content with 2k per day. For shame. Lol I will try to crank it up. I’m mostly following my outline. “Do or do not. There is no try,” stuffed mini Yoda said as he tapped his equally tiny stuffed cane on the wooden desk.

  7. Anthony C. Lanni

    Heh. I would be content with 2k per day. Will be, for the rest of this week, I suspect. Unless I get carried away again… stupid brain, always carrying me away on these crazy flights of fancy

  8. November 17th, 1:49 PM. That is the minute I looked down and realized I’d passed the 50K mark… by 29 words.

    Still have a lot to do on the novel, though, so I’m not stopping here. You shouldn’t either; we’re halfway through the month, and most of you are right about at the halfway mark. Knock it out! 🙂

  9. I am delighted – nay, overjoyed! – to see that ALL OF US hit the 50K word goal! WINNERS ALL AROUND. Go MUG, we rock!

    So… what time did you finish? I checked on Friday afternoon, and I was the only one who had verified my word count at that time, but of course that means nothing. So when did you actually look at your numbers, realize you were over 50K, and jump into the air screaming “I did it! I did it!”? 🙂

Leave a Reply

